We all need to know that Jesus is the chosen one of God.


 

images

In today’s Gospel, Jesus puts His disciples, and us, on the spot when He asks, “But who do you say that I am?” They, as we, when asked, might try to give a safe answer! But Jesus is asking!

‘You are the Messiah,‘ Simon Peter answered, ‘the Son of the living God!‘ Peter’s response was right, sincere, and a grace from God. However, Peter did not correctly understand what he had professed. Not long afterwards, Jesus even “turned on Peter and said, ‘Get out of my sight, you satan! You are trying to make Me trip and fall. You are not judging by God’s standards but by man’s’ “.

We all need to know that Jesus is the chosen one of God, and that He died for us to give us eternal life. If we can admit that to Him and to all around us that we must be ready to do the same, we cannot be spectators! Jesus wants us to know Him and for others to see Him when they see us.

To do that, Jesus must not only be in our hearts but He must also be the purpose of our lives and actions! Thinking and acting cannot be disconnected when it comes to the path of eternal life.

The Psalm reminds us “If today you hear his voice, harden not your heart.” I always love praying and singing this wise statement. The trying times of our life, while extremely painful to endure, are wonderful opportunities to open ourselves to God’s love.
As I contemplated the first reading, I could feel the sense of confusion and exhaustion in Moses and Aaron. We have all been driven to our knees in one sense or another. How can I remember in times of despair to give it all over to God trusting in his love and sanctity? I will be listening more carefully in the times when I feel overwhelmed and hopeless. When I hear God’s voice, I will not harden my heart.

Leave a comment