My 30th birthday, a lesson from the Centurion in today’s gospel and the joy of a new priest in my diocese


 

                               Thank you  my friend for this cake

 

Dear Lord, I thank you for giving me another year of life. I thank you for all the people who have remembered me today, for all my achievements and all the friends you have given to me during the past year. I thank you for all the experiences, the successes and happy memories, for time of failure which reminded me of my own weaknesses and of my need for you, for times of joy when the sun was shining, for times of sorrow which drove me to you. Forgive me, Lord, for the hours I have wasted, for the chances I failed to take, for the opportunities I missed in the past year. Forgive me that I did not use my talents and abilities to the fullest because I was lazy and wanted things the easy way, or I did not completely trust in your support. Help me in the days which lie ahead to make this coming year better than last year and closer to you my Lord. Amen

 

Above are more gifts from family, and in an hours time from now I will be on the road traveling to celebrate with the kids at Home Sweet Orphanage. I know much awaits me there, and it will be a fun-filled day with the children. Pray for journey mercies.

 

“Lord, I am not worthy to have you enter under my roof;
only say the word and my servant will be healed.”

The centurion, the one who expresses the words above, is one who is used to having power and commanding others.  We see this in his own appeal to Jesus, “And I say to one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come here,’ and he comes; and to my slave, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”

And yet here, he recognizes that his own power is nothing compared to that of Jesus.  How often do we find ourselves wanting to control a situation or tell God how something should be.  It sometimes takes us a while before we step back and realize that we are not ultimately in control.  The moment that we re-remember that we are not in control is actually quite liberating.  Placing our trust and faith in God over and over again is a part of our spiritual journey.

What I am drawn to in the Gospel is the absolute faith with which the centurion approaches Jesus on behalf of his servant.  He does not doubt that Jesus’ words alone can heal his servant, even without a physical encounter with Jesus.  Each time we receive the Eucharist at mass we, unworthy as we are, are deemed worthy for a physical encounter with Christ.  Wow!  And yet so often the reality of Christ within us, under our roofs, in our homes is such a challenge to grasp and a reality that I don’t always approach with the faith and trust of the centurion.

Like the centurion and his servant, we have the opportunity to be transformed with each encounter with Christ, whether it is through prayer or meditation, through interactions in our daily lives, or through receiving Him in the Eucharist.

Let us pray that we can approach Jesus Christ in the Eucharist with the same humility and faith that the centurion approached Jesus at Capernaum.  When we invite Jesus into our hearts and our homes, under our own roofs, we allow Him to transform us and work miracles in our own lives.

And……joy fills Mbarara Diocese as we get yet one more priest. Deacon Kenneth Beingana will be ordained priest today at Nyamitanga Cathedral. We thank God for his life and pray that God’s guidance will dwell with him as he takes up this new life-calling. We remember to pray for all our priests.

         Deacon Kenneth Beingana Muntu

Leave a Reply

