If you are God’s child, why should you worry?


Jesus so wisely told us we cannot serve God and money. Those who hunger after money often suffer discontent in relationships which should be close. Jesus tells us if we set our hearts on the kingdom all else will be given to us. This doesn’t mean we are to be careless or live in ways that take no account of the future, but we have only this day (and hopefully many more) to help build His kingdom of peace and good will to all on earth. Someone once said, ‘Yesterday is a cancelled cheque; tomorrow is a promissory note; today is ready cash.’  So, where was I most centred this day? On the way, the truth and the light that Jesus shows us, or on the fickle call of self-indulgence?

Today’s Gospel tells us that there’s no reason for us to worry.  If we put our lives in God’s hands and do our best to live out the Gospel and follow Jesus’ example, everything that we could ever need will be taken care of.  Six times our Lord Jesus advised His followers against worrying. According to Him, no man ever increased the span of his life by worrying. We now know only too well how the reverse can be true. Worrying shortens life. In fact, medical findings have proven that worrying often leads to stress, which is the greatest cause of high mortality rates in all the countries of the world, in relation to strokes, ulcers, cancers and heart attacks.

Sometimes we are so worried and wrapped up in our own lives that we forget God is here to help us.  He loves us so much and because of His great love, He will always be there for us.  Like any father, He will provide for His children.  However, we have to learn to put our lives in His hands and trust Him, no matter how hard that can be.  We have to remember that God has a plan for all of us.

Worrying. I know I’m guilty of it.  I worry about everything.  But it seems that everyone has something to worry about. It may be school-related or work-related; it may be about paying the bills, taking care of our families, or even how other people perceive us.  In today’s society, we are always on the go, and let’s face it, most of us are worrying about something.

I think we should read this gospel every day and perhaps twice on those days when we are feeling overwhelmed. You know, those days when it seems the world is not going according to our plan, those days when life throws us a curve. We need to play this over and over in our head:

“Can any of you by worrying add a single moment to your life span?”

Or when we wonder what people will think of what we are wearing.  We need to think of this gospel when we focus on things more than people. We need to ask ourselves this question:

“Is life not more than food and the body more than clothing?”

We don’t want to let go of our worry or let go of our control. We sometimes think we know better than anyone. If only life could be ordered according to the way I would do things, then it would be better. If only these people in my life would live up to my expectations, then things would be better.  We have to let go and serve God the best way we know how.  Sometimes that means having faith and not having all the answers.

“If God so clothes the grass of the field, which grows today and is thrown into the oven tomorrow, will he not much more provide for you, O you of little faith?”

We do need food and clothes and God knows that, the gospel tells us. But we have to put first things first. Seek God. Be thankful for what you have. Enjoy the world and the people around you.  Be present in the moment.

“Do not worry about tomorrow; tomorrow will take care of itself.”

“Can any of you by worrying add a single moment to your life-span?”-Matthew 6:27

Are we subtly allowing the things of the world to displace God as Provider? Trust God alone. Detach yourselves from the things of this world. Love the Lord and put your lives in His hands.

Lord Jesus, please forgive me for allowing worry and anxiety to take root in my life.  By worrying, I have displayed an obvious lack of faith.  And without faith it is impossible to please You.  Father, please forgive me for living from a worldly perspective rather than Your eternal perspective. Your yoke is easy, and Your burden is light.  I give You the weight of the world that I have taken on my shoulders, and I place it in Your hands; I cast all my cares upon You, because You care for me.

Father, in the name of Jesus I bind anxious and worrisome thoughts out of my life.  I take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ.  And in its place I loose the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, that would guard my heart and mind through Christ Jesus. Father, you promise to keep me in perfect peace, if I keep my mind on you, and if I trust in you.  I make this my declaration:  I will fix all my thoughts on You because I trust in You.  AMEN

 

Leave a Reply

