“In the world you will have trouble, but take courage, I have conquered the world.”


Today’s Gospel is one of those more straightforward passages. The message: Through life’s times of uncertainty and moments of sorrow, trust and find peace in Jesus. God is always with us.

As I write this reflection, my wife Sarah was discharged from hospital yesterday. We spent 4 days and 4 nights in hospital, and the situation was tenser for me on Wednesday morning for the three or more hours she was in for surgery. I remember sitting on her empty hospital bed so lonely and miserable, but I was strong knowing that our God is merciful and always with us when we call out to Him. I felt the intercession of Our Blessed Mother was so much needed at this time, and I spent most of the time reciting the Rosary. However, at some moment, I found that I only needed a short mantra and these words came to my mind, “Loving Jesus, be in control. Loving Mother, intercede for us. Holy Angels  defend us”. So I kept repeating these words until she was finally brought back.

Many of the visitors who came to see us in hospital said, ”We didn’t expect you to be going through this. We thought you are still on honeymoon”. Yes, may be it looked rather unusual that we were in hospital just a month after our wedding. And then I remember what God has given to me ; much of the grace and love overflowing when I did not expect it, sometimes when I did not think I deserved it. As ever-approaching troubles occur in life, pre-warned challenges and unexpected tests of faith, God is there. God prepares all Christians for these moments and for the many challenges ahead. Whether receiving a job, finding a new home, fighting injustice, poor health and pain, or suffering death of family and friends, God does not promise that he will erase the world’s pain, suffering, and injustice, but he does promise that where he is there is also love and hope.

Jesus came, conquered the world, and returned to the Father. He assures us: ‘I will not leave you orphans. I will come back to you and your hearts will rejoice.’ In times of uncertainty we may feel abandoned. The light of Jesus’ presence may not be as bright as it once was. Let us draw comfort from the words of Jesus we hear today from St John: ‘Be brave. I have conquered the world.’ And when we sense the light of his return let us sing with joy. Let us not be shy, when occasion offers, to tell of our peace to those who do not believe, and to those who feel let down by their belief.God does not promise that we will always succeed, but by giving ourselves to the mission of Jesus, by offering to others what we have been given in our education, opportunities, and experiences, that our challenges will be conquered and our work will be fruitful. Hope and love are always present. That is God. That is the peace that I seek for myself and for all my readers. May God bless you.

Dear reader: If you found the information on this page helpful in your pursuit of a better Catholic life, please support our work with a donation. Your donation helps us to reach many other Truth-seeking readers worldwide, especially the youth. When you get to the link above, click Donate, and give a note “Donation to UYMA”. Thank you!

One Response

  1. Thank you for an uplifting message.

Leave a Reply

